All the Little Foxes and Their Friends

Daily Draw June 7th, 2012

Today I am doing a comparison of foxes in my various decks due to the card and comments in this post. The obvious comparison is the foxes in the Lenormand decks but I found quite a few in other decks, both tarot and oracle.

Before I start on cards I wanted to mention one of my favourite graphic novels from The Sandman series, The Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman with artwork by Yoshitaka Amano, I’ve mentioned it before on the blog but it illustrates a classic Asian myth about the fox lady. This comes up on some of my cards too, but the art in this book is so dreamy and evocative, perfect for the story. I recommend you buy it if you love foxes. The cover of my edition is reflective gold so hard to scan accurately.

The Shadowscapes Tarot had the most foxes, a whole suit of them plus a few extras.

I found a few on I Ching cards.

Several stories with foxes in the Fables of La Fontaine are illustrated in these playing cards.

And here are the wonderful Lenormand decks and their attractive foxes.

An assortment of foxes on various decks:

Lisa Hunt has painted foxes in several decks.

More foxes, looking bushy-tailed:

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Lenormand Oracle, Oracles - General, Playing Cards, Tarot - General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All the Little Foxes and Their Friends

  1. Oh my, this must have taken you ages to compile and visually sort out! Excellent post.

    I love that Creature Teacher one. How cute.

    As you know, we have a resident fox in our garden, so it’s nice to look at these.

    Magic Mentha is going to LOVE these!

    • woley says:

      It took hours and hours to do. I am not supposed to do too much on the computer due to nerve pain, but it’s hard when I start rolling on a visual comparison.

      I have lost count of the number of decks I have purchased through seeing cards on blogs. I find these sorts of posts invaluable personally.

      In thinking about it, with 366 decks or something, I’m sure a good two-thirds of them were purchased because of seeing examples on blogs. It’s not just the images, it’s how people use them that counts with me, which is an attitude reflected in my reviews.

      Oh yes, your resident fox! Lucky man you are.

  2. mooninfog says:

    Wonderful, wonderful. I love their looks, and never saw one being sneaky or stealing chickens. Funny…I’ve been doing a bit of wild bird rescue (various kinds of doves, mostly with damaged feet or wings) and began naming them in alphabetical order. After Ernest who had only a congenitally deformed but functional foot, came a small zebra dove with a broken leg–the poor thing was spotted by a child–I asked him to give me a boy’s name with F, and he said: Fox! His own last name. So there you have it. I’m sorry it didn’t work out with the dog–the right things will come along for you I’m sure. 🙂 xxxDebra

    • woley says:

      Actually, the Grandville artwork on the Fantastic Menagerie shows them stealing chickens–one is hidden under a coat–hard to see in the low res scan–but look by his tail under the blue coat on the Seven of Swords.

      Dove rescue! Wow. As far as the dog goes I doubt I would have the courage to try again, so will probably just have the Newf for a couple more years as she is getting old, and that will be it.

  3. mooninfog says:

    Yes, fox has a bad rep and I’m sure he deserves it. What I mean is, I’ve never seen their cunning in real life. 😉

    • woley says:

      Oh, I see!

      I find domesticated pets cunning about food sometimes, as are humans. Domesticated dogs kill chickens and sheep and rabbits, yet Coyote is the trickster and Fox is wily.

  4. This is just lovely! Thank you for taking the time!

Leave a Reply

