Violetta Meets the Stranger at the Gate

Daily Draw April 12th, 2012

Having been on a bender of junk food, even my eyelids have edema. This grief seems to be deeper, I think it’s about the greater grief of getting old, tacked onto the grief for dead dogs and the happy past with them. The double whammy.

45 – VIOLET – Create a Balanced Life

This card even talks about regenerating the nervous system and illness, trouble with the eyes and brain. She asks if you have an area of life that’s out of balance, what can you learn from it? What occurs to me is that I always have a choice—I am out of balance because I chose to be. I have to let go of fear, stress, and worry and bring back balance.

I bought another of Jon Kabat-Zinn’s books: Full Catastrophe Living: Using the Wisdom of Your Body and Mind to Face Stress, Pain, and Illness, which is about healing and chronic pain as well as other things. So I’m reading that amid all the library books I have.

A snippet from Braided Creek that hit me today:

Now it’s the body’s dog, pain
barking and barking
A stranger has come to the gate
with an empty sack.

Live in the present Violetta, create balance. It isn’t magic, it’s creation. You create.

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Violetta Meets the Stranger at the Gate”


  1. Wow.

    I’m so sorry about your stress and pain. I am trying to reconcile some issues myself and I find my mood has been all over the place, but mostly tired and tense. For me, though, I think that stress is a habit that follows all of a person’s life and life’s difficulties and aging just makes it harder, but isn’t necessarily the cause (well, that’s how it is for me–but that doesn’t mean that’s how it is for everyone)…

    These cards are just beautiful. This deep purple is kind of sad somehow–but I love this color. I’ve been more into purple in recent years. I hope the books are helpful. Sometimes a good book is really uplifting (or a good movie). I’m somewhat addicted to self-help books. They’re like cheap psychiatry.

    Sorry I haven’t been posting much. Thinking of you–hope you have a happy, creative day.

    Hugs,
    MM

    • woley Says:

      If you like purple the Dreaming in Color Luman Deck is a good choice.

      I have been enjoying your pictures of the new house.

      Self-help books are like art technique books–sooner or later you have to act and do the thing. I am having a better days thanks. Trying to get some photos printed on sample sheets of photo paper–it,s working fairly well.


Leave a Reply

