Cycles and Time and Death

Daily Draw April 4th, 2012

We found out two days ago that a neighbour’s Lab was euthanized when Abby was, due to age and bad hips and pain. I kept expecting to see this little dog and got worried enough that my husband walked over and asked about her. I am devastated because she came every day—literally wore a path around our house trotting on her rounds every day. She would knock at our door or basement window to get our dogs out to play. I wish they’d told us so we could have said goodbye. The last time I saw her was at our window the night before Abby died. If only we’d known.

I saw someone who has a dog up for adoption so we are talking about it. I don’t drive so she’d have to come here and that’s unlikely as they are 2.5 hours away, but I thought I’d inquire—you never know. I drew a card about this and got….

10 OF SWORDS

Most definitely we are at the end of a cycle, the end of an era and lives. I am having a bit of a time dealing with it, and keep thinking of Lewis Carroll’s line from Alice in Wonderland: “All in the golden afternoon” which is how I feel about my dog and her little friend, now both gone, along with the memory of the golden afternoon when we were all young.

Perhaps it is the end of the dream generally with regard to having dogs? We have our Newf, who got a good brush yesterday and helped in the garden. She is 8 so might only live a year or two, then the golden afternoon will be truly over.

 

 

 

 

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

