Three from the Ashes of St. John of the Cross

Daily Draw March 8th, 2012

I downloaded a PDF file from CCEL of three of the books of St. John of the Cross to use with the Diary of a Broken Soul Tarot. Ash often quotes John or cites his poetry so I thought he would be an apt tie-in to this deck. There are pages and pages of excellent notes in these files that I will read.

This particular quote was one I chose randomly and it turns out to be one of the most famous quotes from the book Ascent of Mt. Carmel by John. I just saw the word “bird” while scrolling and stopped when it leapt out to me, I had no idea.

4 OF DIAMONDS
QUEEN OF DIAMONDS
XII HANGED MAN

I was up at 1 a.m. (and it is now 3 a.m.) with terrible nausea. I ate some bread for lunch and dinner, hence the nausea. The old patterns keep rearing up. This quote with its reference to being held by cords and attachment, really hit home for that reason.

The 4 of Diamonds is also known as the 4 of Pentacles and I often refer to this as the Miser card. This is a person who thinks they never have enough, and what they have they keep to themselves. I love this card with the wild guardian in the tree and her stare of malevolence. “Get away from my stuff!” Even her knees are held up defensively. Speaking of attachment and attaining liberty, her hands are gripping, even her hair is gripping the tree. Those things she is guarding are embedded deeply in that tree, the better to hold them there where no one can snatch them, my pretty.

The Queen of Diamonds is farseeing today, looking over her dominion, wondering why that guy will not set himself free from the web. She’s a motherly sort but even she loses patience with people who won’t let go and get on with it.

The Hanged Man is hanging, attached to that bloody web that won’t let him go, OR that he’s tied himself to. Sticky, sticky, stickiness. You’ll be hanging there until the end of your life if you aren’t careful.

For it comes to the same thing.

About JJ

Eccentric erminois dweller.
This entry was posted in Tarot - General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

