On the Night Train With Georgia

Daily Draw March 1st, 2012

After yesterday’s mention of Georgia O’Keeffe’s tree, I thought I’d draw a card from the Georgia O’Keeffe Oracle, handmade by Laura Secor.

Train at Night in the Desert
Georgia O’Keeffe (American, 1887-1986)
(1916). Watercolour and pencil on paper, 11 7/8 x 8 7/8″ (30.3 x 22.5 cm)

 

You can just hear that lonesome train whistle sound, wrapped in smoke and night stars, dopplering.

For me, this is about chugging on with unfinished projects. I got the notion to haul out an old image transfer cabochon I made about five years ago with a Chinese design from public domain clip art. I made beads with Chinese designs for this and highlighted them with gold paint. I also bought some faux cinnabar in red and turquoise for this.

 

It’s a shame to let things sit at the train station when you can turn the headlamp on and continue. I’m going to China on the Orient Express under the stars of imagination.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

4 Comments on “On the Night Train With Georgia”

  1. mooninfog Says:

    I am astounded by how many projects you have going! I love your hand-made beads 😉

    • woley Says:

      Thanks Debra, and these are only the ones I’ve dragged out to finish, I have lots more buried. I get things done in increments, bit by bit and one day they pop out and say “What took you so long?”

      How are your hand-coloured Vacchetta cards coming? Did you finish that? I keep meaning to ask–this seems like a perfect time.

  2. mooninfog Says:

    They’re on the shelf with about ten other projects. Any day now….

    • woley Says:

      My sister says that projects are “ageing” when you rest them, as in a fine wine ageing until the proper time.

      One day it will be the time to finish them. The sample you sent me was great–beautifully done, so you’ll get back to them. Oh, and now you know why I didn’t colour mine, merely tinted the linework green. Hahaha.


Leave a Reply

