Patterns in the Belfry

Daily Draw January 29th, 2012

This came up for me in a search of new decks: the Sacred Sites Tarot by Lo Scarabeo. They have done the Hagia Sophia on the 2 of Pentacles card which is one of my favourite buildings. I also studied it on The World card when doing my study of the Tarot of the Saints. The deck is out later this year, so perhaps one to keep an eye on.

Today I am using the always wonderful The Compass of Fate deck which is a Mah Jongg deck available for free online that I like to use as an oracle. In this example you can see the way I tinted the cards different colours. Two are green and one is teal; I also used a shade of dark blue which is not on these particular cards.

6 South – BELL – HAND BELL
7 East – CANYON – ARCH
6 East – DESERT – MIRAGE

The Bell reminds me of sick people ringing a bell at their bedside to get attention and care. The Arch in the Canyon suit is like a portal out of a canyon one has become trapped in, and the Mirage in the Desert suit reminds me of false hope, the Mirage of wellness, the dryness I refuse to see.

Health again. I am up at 3 a.m. again because I overdid it. I downloaded the iTunes I bought with my gift card and spent hours making playlists and copying tracks from CDs I own and then burning discs. I listened to some tracks over and over and just wound myself up and cannot sleep. I haven’t been eating properly and my stomach is really upset too, as well as the ongoing pain in my legs which gets worse when I lie down because my bad ankle starts seizing up.

What is that phrase? “Ringing the changes.” Different patterns require different ringing of the bells, so you ring the change in pattern. It also refers to an old con trick from the nineteenth century where someone swapped a good coin for a counterfeit one; in other words a ringer was substituted for the real coin.

One of my affirmations is “I am willing to change” but during nights like this I wonder if I am. I don’t think I’ve embraced change. I have made a few half-assed attempts, but that isn’t real change, it is trickery, I am conning myself. To really change a pattern you need to pull a different way, escape through the Arch and recognize a Mirage when you see one.

The Universe rings my bell and offers me a real drink of water.

It’s a noticing patterns kind of day. An awareness.

 And it’s one more day up in the canyons…

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miscellaneous Cards

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “Patterns in the Belfry”

  1. Shaheen Miro Says:

    This is a wonderfully powerful message. I love the cards and images. I sometimes fight with this same feeling of trying to talk myself into feeling one way… when really I feel another. But I try to do something to not only shift my thoughts, but my energy. Something symbolic always works for me.

    Be good to yourself my friend 🙂

    Shaheen

    • woley Says:

      I think it’s important to make some kind of effort–that shift is important. That’s why I usually do draws first thing in the morning, so I can do that shift if necessary.

      You can get The Compass of Fate for free. I cleaned up the images and tinted the linework blue, green, and teal and printed them on cream cardstock, but you can just print them on white cardstock as they come and it’s a good deck.

      In case you are interested in building your collection!


Leave a Reply

