The Entrance of The Sacred Three

I came across something while browsing on the Internet called Post-Meningitis Syndrome. There is some evidence that people suffer from this. You can cure the meningitis, but a switch goes off somewhere in the long term and can cause pain like myalgia and fibromyalgia, depression, sometimes symptoms of multiple sclerosis and loss of balance, all sorts of small things.

This makes sense to me since people who have had chicken pox often get shingles when older. I know someone who had mononucleosis when young and doctors think it might be responsible for his lymphoma in later years. I had viral meningitis when I was 18, which is not as dreadful as bacterial meningitis, but perhaps it is the source of my chronic pain, myalgia, nerve pain, insomnia? The fact that it might not be all in my mind was crucial for me, I have great respect for physiology and our finite knowledge of the brain. You never know, this might be the switch that went off and started causing problems in my body.

In addition to that I bought a book on mind-body-spirit interaction with regard to emotional eating called The Emotional Eater’s Repair Manual. I already know that certain foods cause me horrible inflammation and pain, so I thought I’d help my body by getting some awareness of why I continue these patterns.

Due to recent ruminations on cards and not feeling connected to them I thought I’d create a new study pattern as well. You know what this means, a bright, shiny new category in the blog menu! I am calling it Tri-Sacred Sampling and I’m using what I refer to as The Sacred Three, the three decks I feel the most connection to, and ones I feel have a great depth of meaning, thought, creativity, and artistic skill. They are all black and white decks strangely enough. In order of appearance in my collection:

The Ironwing Tarot by Lorena Babcock Moore
The Diary of a Broken Soul Tarot by Ash Goh (a.k.a. Ash Abdullah)
Tarot of the Absurd by Jessica Rose Shanahan

The Big Three, the Sacred. For a bit of Tri-Sacred Sampling today I drew a card from the Tarot of the Absurd and then pulled out the corresponding cards from the other two decks.

4 of Cups
4 of Hearts (4 of Cups)
4 of Coils (4 of Cups)

Tri_First

Too tired, too tired to have fun. Not another glass of champagne, I already had one. Ennui and fatigue. It’s good to rest a bit, to let it go to let yourself drift in boredom. This definitely reminds me of the way I’ve been feeling about cards.

The 4 of Hearts in the Diary deck certainly reminds me of two minds, two wills or perhaps the mind and body snarling at each other. Caught in the middle, he wraps his arm with protective swaddling and tries to sort it out. It looks tiring.

Lorena says “Stability; finding or creating sacred space.” with regard to the number symbolism, and Water which is the element connected to the Coils suit is about rest in the fours. I read this after I started thinking about sacredness and decks, and which decks I consider sacred. Synchronicity, I must be on the right track with this study.

This card depicts a hornpod entwined with an iron replica of a hornpod. I saw an artist sculpting wonderful dragons from the pods of hornpod. Hornpods seem to have worlds within worlds. Again the aspects of ennui, fatigue, death, dryness, cycles, balance. You need the cycle of death and dryness, the withdrawal and waiting is necessary. This also reminds me of the horns of the uterus in women, a place where seeds also go through a cycle.

Sacred rest, rest in sacredness. As you find it, it will mirror you inside and outside.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Ashes, Ashes, We All Fall Down, Tri-Sacred Sampling

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

2 Comments on “The Entrance of The Sacred Three”

  1. ironwing Says:

    Wow, I’m honored! I do like that Tarot of the Absurd, too. Lots of sleek movement in those pictures, and the simple white-on-black is quite appealing.

    I think you might be on to something important with the connection between meningitis (and other serious illnesses) and later chronic illness.

    My mother had rheumatic fever as a child. She has had various arthritic conditions and mild anxiety symptoms for decades, went through menopause at 40, has been diagnosed with lupus and fibromyalgia, and is currently battling doctors over some cardiac symptoms, but as usual, nobody is really listening.

    The Four of Coils is the “waiting for rain” card. It’s a reminder that a time of drought, inaction, or low productivity isn’t necessarily a failure. It is part of a natural cycle which includes rest and energy conservation as well as growth and abundance. It’s worth remembering that the “growing season” for many desert shrubs is only about three months a year, and for the hornpods it’s even shorter.

    • JJ Says:

      That’s interesting about your Mom. We are so arrogant about what we know about the brain and body but in reality we know so little, it does these organic things that we have no comprehension of.

      Yes, the waiting for rain card. I like that. (as I sip my apple, pear, pineapple, and banana blended drink in the am.)

      Thanks Lorena it’s heartening.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers