Warp and Weft Waves

I don’t know what’s up with me, because I haven’t felt like working with my cards for ages. I like to think of life cycles like waves, where you go up and down, still toodling along, still moving. No big deal, just a little diversion, perhaps the start of a new course, your compass zooming around as you steer. Part of the natural order of being human, cycles just happen one day and you think “I am changing, something’s different.”

Long-time users and collectors of cards often go through a period like this. Some people end up giving up their cards and selling their collections. I was really put off by various card people veering toward marketing manipulation and “courses” in the last few years. When did it all become such big business?

I like it to be about art and depth of reflection. This cannot be taught, you need to feel it and learn through experience, your own experience, it is not something you can buy in a course. I miss that, I miss people who put the effort in by themselves, whose passion and delight in cards fuels something deeper.

Warp and weft, new patterns, new colours.

LOUISE COTTEY WOVEN TEXTILES
photography by Steven Cottey

LouiseCottey

See the waves? This is a perfect illustration of the changing patterns of life. We make the folds, the patterns, the design. We put the time and imagination in. We see in OUR mind’s eye. It’s a quiet, inner creativity, a connection to Self.

As is holding a card.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Art Postcards

4 Comments on “Warp and Weft Waves”

  1. Jason Says:

    Nothing wrong with taking a break, in my opinion. I know what you mean about courses. I have been pondering whether to write my thoughts on the problem with teachers in the card reading community. Even people who aren’t making money but are perceived as “in the know” receive constant virtual groveling: “OMG you’re the bestest and I can’t stop telling you how brilliant you are and I’m SO not worthy!

    Perhaps I exaggerate, but not by much. These teachers aren’t necessarily encouraging this adulation, but I imagine it goes to some heads. My best teachers are people who are just doing their own thing, and if they teach anyone it is very informal.

    Warp and weft, wax and wane… all natural cycles, I suppose. Your cards will still be there when you feel more drawn to them, which I’m sure will happen eventually.

    • JJ Says:

      “My best teachers are people who are just doing their own thing, and if they teach anyone it is very informal.”

      That’s IT Jase, that’s exactly what I find.

      I liken it to people who brag about being smart–I know from experience that the people who are really smart keep it to themselves. They have no need to broadcast the information.

      If you want to chat about books or knowledge and learning they are quite happy to chat and explore with someone who has similar interests. It’s fun and stimulating to share enthusiasm for a subject.

      There’s a reciprocal aspect to teaching and sharing knowledge that happens when people are in sync. Obsequious grovelling is not conducive to learning.


      • I have these periods, yes. In fact, much more lately than ever before.

        I agree. You can’t really teach tarot in that way, since it’s ‘your’ tarot. The person has to find their own. I like to play with the cards with others sometimes – Kate and I read for each other, Karen and I mix them up and tell stories.

        There are some real tarot ‘know-alls’ out there. But I often find that those who shout the loudest often have the least to shout about. It’s all about publicity and trying to be something in the tarot world. I don’t care about the tarot world, or at least, not the shallow one, with it’s love, light and super-sharp-claws.

        I read a handful of blogs and I like the intimacy of a small group like this.I like that every day of working with cards can feel like the first when it is at it’s best – the curiosity and surprise, the awe of artwork and the excitement of seeing something new. It has nothing to do with being a tarot guru or having 1500 followers on Facebook.

      • JJ Says:

        I most definitely do not care for the tarot world, they have completely alienated me. I am absolutely sickened to be treated to mass market spamming by people who want to be celebrities.

        Curiosity, surprise, and the awe of artwork–that is so precious, so full of vitality.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers